whatROI vs Seller Ledger
Seller Ledger is bookkeeping: it imports your history, matches payouts to bank deposits and files Schedule C. whatROI reports on shows. Many sellers use both.
Updated · Seller Ledger's prices and features read from their own site on September 23, 2026
The two products
Seller Ledger
Accounting software for online sellers: bookkeeping, payout matching, inventory and cost of goods sold, and Schedule C reports.
- Price
- $10 a month to 250 transactions, $20 to 1,000, $50 to 5,000, $100 unlimited
- Free
- 30-day free trial, no card.
Read September 23, 2026 from Whatnot Accounting Software, sellerledger.com
whatROI
A profit and inventory tracker for whatnot live sellers, built around the show.
- Price
- $39 a month, or $390 a year
- Free
- Free plan: 4 shows a month with full detail and 2 lots. 14-day Pro trial, no card.
Where Seller Ledger is better
We make the other product, so their case comes first.
What Seller Ledger does better
Reasons to buy Seller Ledger instead, from their own page.
- Real bookkeeping. It matches payouts to bank deposits, which whatROI doesn't do and your accountant will ask for.
- Cheaper at low volume: $10 a month up to 250 transactions.
- A 30-day trial with no card, the longest here.
- Imports your history through a browser extension, so you skip the weekly download.
- Covers every channel you sell on, with bank and card accounts connected.
What whatROI does that their page doesn't claim
Things we couldn't find on their site. If they've added one, tell us and we'll update this page.
- Profit by show: which nights made money.
- Profit per streamed hour, and a pace check while the show is running.
- Case and pallet cost split across what came out, by a rule you choose.
- Every fee rechecked against whatnot's published schedule, with overcharges flagged.
Which one to buy
- Buy Seller Ledger if
- You need books: deposits reconciled, every channel in one ledger, and a clean Schedule C at year end.
- Buy whatROI if
- You want to know which shows and cases are worth repeating. The two answer different questions, and plenty of sellers run both.
Capability by capability
“Not stated” means Seller Ledger's own page doesn't mention it. The tool may still do it.
| Capability | Seller Ledger | whatROI |
|---|---|---|
| Profit per showA show is the unit of work. Monthly totals can't tell you which night paid. | No. It reports by order and accounting period. | Yes. Each show gets its own profit and loss, with its orders, refunds and giveaways. |
| Profit per streamed hourTwo shows can net the same over very different hours. This number decides next week. | Not stated | Yes. Net profit divided by hours streamed, per show or across any range. |
| Cost of a case or lot, split across what came out of itThe half of profit whatnot's reports leave out. | Partly. Tracks inventory and cost of goods sold. The page doesn't describe splitting one case cost across the items in it. | Yes. Enter a case, pallet or collection cost once. It's split evenly, by sale price, or as named hits with the rest pooled. |
| Fees rechecked against the published scheduleWorks out what each fee should have been, and flags the difference. | No. Imports and categorises fees as recorded, which is what bookkeeping requires. | Yes. Every order rechecked against whatnot's published schedule. Any charge above it is flagged. |
| Your commission tier, read from your own reportFrom September 21, 2026, commission depends on your four-week sales. whatnot doesn't print your tier. | Not stated | Yes. Read from the commission charged on your orders, per show. |
| Tax-ready exportSchedule C lines, or the VAT equivalent, ready to export. | Yes. Schedule C reports and quarterly estimated tax. | Yes. Schedule C lines and a 1099-K bridge in the tax pack, plus CSV exports. |
| Works without linking your whatnot accountSome tools link your account through a browser extension. Others read the files whatnot gives you. | No. “Using our browser extension, link your Whatnot account and we'll import your sales and fee history.” Bank, PayPal and card accounts connect directly. | Yes. Reads the Weekly Orders Report and Show Report files. Nothing connects to your whatnot account. |
| Other marketplacesWhether it also covers eBay, Poshmark, Mercari and the rest. | Yes. Covers every channel you sell on, with bank and payment accounts connected. | No. whatnot only. |